Get to Know JB of Monster Tree Service of Alexandria

Meet one of our newest members: JB of Monster Tree Service of Alexandria

Introduction: I was born and raised in Charlottesville, VA and have lived in Alexandria, VA ever since 2010. I am married with two children (Girl 5, Boy 3) and have a Yellow Lab (9). I attended the University of Tennessee where I majored in Business Administration.

How/why did you start your business? In high school, a friend and I ran a successful lawn business. In college, I was originally a landscape design major and took many of the prerequisite classes only to decide, like all smart 20-year-olds, that I needed to go into Business, and so I switched my major. I can say that I greatly enjoyed the plant and soil science classes that I took and excelled in them. I spent 18 years working in Corporate America on the sales and account management (commercial) sides of businesses and constantly found myself frustrated by the bureaucracy and lack of control, accountability, and efficiency. I wanted the ability to go back to my roots: plant and soil science. I also wanted a business where I could be in control and feel a sense of accomplishment while having fun, being outdoors and having more time with my family. As they say in the tree world, “healthy trees and shrubs all start with the soil quality.”

Tell us a little bit about your work/life balance. This is something that I take very seriously; it is part of why I started this company. I work very hard to see my wife and children and to share meals with them. I also enjoy playing golf, fishing, and hunting in my free time. I am an avid Washington Capitals fan, and you can often find me at games.

What is a typical day like for you? One of the things that I love most about what I do now is that there is no such thing as a “typical day” anymore. The variability is great. I do find my skills are best utilized building relationships and selling work.

What motivates you to work hard? I am an extremely service-oriented person and I take great joy in helping customers with their problems. Also, as a people-focused individual, I take great pride in my employees and their accomplishments.

What is your proudest accomplishment? Outside of my two children, starting my own business from the ground up.

What did you want to do when you were little? Be a professional hockey player.

First job? Started my own lawn-care company with a friend when I was in high school.

What’s something that has surprised you about your chosen career path? Just how hard starting your own business and making it successful really can be. It made me think back on my corporate career and have a greater appreciation for the things that were afforded to me there.

The best piece of advice you’ve ever received? A highly successful local businessman in Charlottesville, VA, where I grew up, told me I should go into sales. It has led me where I am today. A friend also told me, “Do not ride the highs too high, never ride the lows too low.”

If you could choose to do anything for the day, what would it be? Play a round of golf at Augusta National Golf Club. That place is beautiful from an arboriculture perspective.

Favorite/most rewarding part about your business? The variability in my day, every day is a new challenge, and I get to meet new people and build new relationships.

Who knows you best? My wife.

What can we find you doing in your free time? How do you enjoy downtime? You will find me spending time with my family, playing golf, and going to hockey games.

List of favorites –

Music – Texas and 90’s Country.

Meal – cook or order in? Cook in.

Drink – Unsweet iced tea.

Book – Not a bookworm.

Movie – Top Gun.

Tv series – Yellowstone.

Vacation spot – Hatteras, NC.

Item of clothing – Any of my cowboy boots.

Life hero – My parents.

Season – Fall.

Holiday – Thanksgiving.

Sports team – Washington Capitals.

Hobby – Fishing and golf.

Pet – cat or dog person? – Dog (allergic to cats!).

Morning person or night owl? – Used to be a night owl, kids changed that. Morning person now.